Recovery Services Logo

Office of Recovery Services

Glossary of Terms

Administrative hearing: An adjudicative proceeding under UAPA that takes place before an administrative law judge at the Department's Office of Administrative Hearings.

AIS: Automated Information System. A telephone answering/information system used to give callers information about the Office of Recovery Services (ORS) and their cases.

Arrears: The amount of money owed to a state or to a Non-IV-A participant that was not paid when due.

BMC: "Bureau of Medical Collections". The program within ORS which collects medical reimbursement from responsible third parties to both reimburse and avoid state Medicaid costs.

CIC: "Children in Care". The program within ORS which provides services to reimburse the state for costs of supporting children placed in its care and/or custody, by obtaining financial and medical support, through locating parents, establishing paternity and support obligations and enforcing those obligations when necessary.

CSS: "Child Support Services". The program within ORS which provides services on behalf of children and families in obtaining financial and medical support. Child support services also include locating parents and establishing paternity.

Current support: Support that is owed for the current month. Also known as "ongoing support."

EFT: Electronic Funds Transfer. Electronic transfer of support payments from CSS to the personal account of an obligee, in lieu of checks. May also involve electronic transfer of payments to CSS from employers or other payors.

FTE: Full-time equivalent staff.

Garnishment: A legal action that allows the state to attach a portion of an obligor’s salary (after mandatory deductions) and apply it to his or her obligation.

IV-A Cases: Refers to child support cases in which the custodial parent and/or child(ren) are receiving cash assistance from the state. Also sometimes referred to as "PA cases".

IV-D: Refers to Title IV, Part D of the Social Security Act, which is the federal authorizing statute for the child support program. It is often used interchangeably with the words child support, such as IV-D program, IV-D services, etc. IV-D Agency: Refers to the state agency designated to be responsible for the administration of the IV-D Child Support Enforcement Program. In Utah, this agency is located within the Office of Recovery Services (ORS).

Non-IV-A Cases: Refers to child support cases in which the family is not currently or is no longer receiving cash assistance or Medicaid but is receiving child support services. Also sometimes referred to as "Non-PA cases".

Non-IV-D Cases: Refers to cases that are neither IV-A nor Non-IVA in which activities are required to be performed by the IV-D agency. For example, the IV-D agency is required by federal law to collect, account for and distribute all payments resulting from income withholding even in cases between private parties who have not been on assistance and who do not have an open IV-D case.

NTW (Notice To Withhold Child Support): A document that instructs an obligor’s payor of income to withhold part of the obligor's income and send it to the Office of Recovery Services/Child Support Services (ORS/CSS). The withheld income is applied to the obligor's support debts.

OAH Office of Administrative Hearings: The office that conducts hearings, including fair hearings and administrative hearings, for parties who dispute administrative actions taken by the Department of Human Services (DHS). The hearings are conducted in accordance with generally accepted principles of administrative law and due process.

OCSE: The Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement.

Order: A legal document that specifies the amount of money that is owed by a participant or the enforceable duty of the participant.

ORS: Refers to the Office of Recovery Services, located in the Utah Department of Human Services. ORS houses the IV-D agency, as well as the Bureau of Investigations and Collections, Bureau of Medical Collections and the Bureau of Collections for Children in Care.

ORSIS: The Office of Recovery Services Information System. ORSIS is the comprehensive computer system used in ORS.

Reconsideration: Review of an existing administrative order to determine whether the order should stand or be replaced with a new or modified order. The obligor must request reconsideration within 20 days after the final order is issued. The obligor also must state specific grounds for reconsideration.

State Hospital Program: An Office of Recovery Services (ORS) program that collects full or partial support for state hospital patients from the responsible parties.

TANF: The Federal block grant program Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, which replaces the Aid to Families with Dependent Children program. In Utah, this program is known as "FEP", Family Employment Program.

TPL: Means Third Party Liability, which refers to individuals or entities who have financial liability for medical costs of Medicaid recipients.

UIFSA: The Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, the set of laws which govern interstate child support enforcement.

Welfare Reform: New federal requirements as a result of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunities Reconciliation Act of 1996.